Book Club!

Welcome to our bookclub! Curated and hosted by the wonderful Ubax of Cheche Books in Nairobi, we're so excited to read with you! Cheche Books is a Pan-African feminist bookshop and community event space focusing on African and diaspora women writers.

Our next meeting will be held Sunday, January 23 at 12PM EST / 9AM PST / 8PM EAT, and we’ll be discussing Nadifa Mohamed’s newest release, The Fortune Men. Interested in joining us?

Register for the book club here!

Wondering where to get a copy of the selected books? A list of Ubax’s picks (past, present and future) is available on our Bookshop, here!

For those of you in Nairobi, Cheche offers a 10% discount on all Zuri book club selections!

Past Reads and Discussion Leaders have included: 

Open Water by Caleb Azumah Nelson, with a community discussion 

Akwaeke Emezi's Dear Senthuran: A Black Spirit Memoir, with the discussion led by Che Che's own Ndegwa Nguru, an Emezi superfan! 

Nanjala Nyabola's Travelling While Black: Essays Inspired by Life on the Move with the discussion led by the author herself!

We Do This 'Til We Free Us, by Mariame Kaba with Ruth Nyambura, a political ecologist and eco-feminist from Kenya who focuses on the intersections of gender, economy and ecological justice in the Global South.